Quezon City, Philippines—The Land Transportation Office (LTO) today launched the use of an Internet-based payment system for LTO transactions during a simple ceremony held at the Bulwagang Romeo F. Edu, LTO Main Building in East Avenue, Quezon City.

The availability of the Land Bank of the Philippines (LBP) Electronic Payment Portal (EPP) to accept payment for LTO transactions has been made possible through a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) signed last December 1, 2017 between the LTO-NCR, LBP and the Bureau of Treasury (BTr).

“LTO clients may now pay for all new registration transactions remotely through the online system initially in Metro Manila for a minimal transaction fee of Php10 per approved transaction. The e-Payment Portal eliminates several steps in the payment process, thus making payments faster, easier, and more convenient,” LTO Assistant Secretary Edgar C. Galvante said during his Message at the Launching Ceremony.

“More importantly, it removes possible instances of corruption in the payment process since there will be less human intervention,” the LTO Chief added.

LTO-National Capital Region (NCR) Regional Director (RD) Atty. Clarence V. Guinto said that the MOA allows payments, initially within Metro Manila, for the registration of brand new motor vehicles (MVs) and motorcycles (MCs). MV/MC dealers in the NCR may now pay through the Portal.

“This innovation is a departure from the old system where payments are made through cash or manager’s check. We have done live tests of this new online payment system since April and we are glad to note that it has proven to reduce processing time and payment queuing,” the LTO-NCR Regional Director said.

“What’s more, it enhances LTO’s internal control system, especially in terms of cash management,” he added.

During the same event, and in cooperation with LTO IT service provider STRADCOM, the LTO also launched 28 additional sites for the Personal Appointment Scheduling System (LTO Online PASS) for plain renewal of driver’s license and renewal of motor vehicle registration in 28 District Offices (DOs).

“We have deployed 28 new sites to augment the 4 LTO PASS pilot-test work stations. LTO clients in Metro Manila now have more district offices to choose from to transact with,” RD Guinto said.

Aside from LTO-Marikina, Muntinlupa, Novaliches and Pasig, the additional 28 stations to be installed with the Appointment System are the following:

1. Caloocan District Office 15. Manila West District Office
2. Caloocan Licensing Center 16. Navotas Extension Office
3. Diliman District Office 17. Parañaque Extension Office
4. La Loma District Office 18. Pasay District Office
5. Las Piñas District Office 19. Pasay Licensing Center
6. Las Piñas Licensing Extension Office 20. Quezon City Licensing Renewal Section
7. Makati District Office 21. Quezon City District Office
8. Makati Licensing Center 22. Quezon City Extension Office
9. Malabon Extension Office 23. San Juan District Office
10. Mandaluyong Extension Office 24. San Juan Licensing Center
11. Manila East District Office 25. Taguig Extension Office
12. Manila Licensing Renewal Section 26. Valenzuela District Office
13. Manila North District Office 27. Public Utility Vehicle Renewal Center
14. Manila South District Office 28. Public Utility Vehicle Renewal Extension Center

He said that clients may schedule an appointment by accessing the LTO PASS site

The LTO-NCR has also deployed an additional five (5) LTO Kiosk—Motor Vehicle Renewal in 5 District Offices, namely: Makati; Marikina; Novaliches; Pasig; and Pasay. Through the Kiosk, vehicle owners may directly have their vehicle assessed and evaluated instead of queuing at the LTO evaluator window.

“These innovations are in response to President Rodrigo Roa Duterte’s call for agencies to reduce processing time for transactions, and thereby improve the quality and delivery of frontline services. The LTO is determined to institute more of these innovations,” LTO Assec Galvante assured the public.